Tag Archives: Secretariat

Best Triple Crown Winner of All Time was Secretariat

Fastest Triple Crown Winner

The Triple Crown of horse racing includes the Kentucky Derby, Preakness, and Belmont Stakes. Over the years, a total of 13 horses have won all three of these races. Secretariat was 1973 Triple Crown winner.

Furthermore, Secretariat was the first Triple Crown Winner recorded in 25 years and logged the fastest run time for the 3 races. This amazing horse set the time record at 1 minute and 59.4 seconds with a 2.5 length victory in the 1973 Kentucky Derby. Secretariat ran the Preakness at 1 minute and 53 seconds. In the Belmont Stakes, Secretariat won by an astounding 31 lengths. The horse is set the Belmont Stakes record as well. It’s incredible that he has records that still stand at Belmont, the Kentucky Derby, and Preakness.

Watch this amazing video of the 1973 Belmont Stakes

Secretariet winning the Belmont Stakes in 1973

Secretariat’s other wins and honors

Apart from the triple crown, Secretariat has won other horse prestigious races. Many of these races are still run today. They are considered Derby Prep Races. The races won by Secretariat include the Laurel Futurity in 1972. Also, he won the Hopeful stakes in 1972 and the Futurity in 1972. Also, he won, the Sanford Stakes in 1972 and the Garden State Futurity in 1972. Gotham stakes in 1973, Bay shore stake in 1973, Marlboro cup in 1973, Canadian international in 1973, Man o’ war stake in 1973 and Arlington Invitational in 1973.

Besides the Triple Crown, Secretariat has received several other awards and honors. For example, He earned the title of 9th US Triple Crown champion, American Champion Male Turf Horse, American Horse of the year and American champion three – year – old male Horse. Furthermore, Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame honored the horse in 2007. Also, the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame nominated him in 2013. Additionally, Belmont Park erected a statue in honor of Secretariat after his record setting. The statue now stands in the National Horse Racing Hall of Fame.