Category Archives: Racetracks

Best Triple Crown Winner of All Time was Secretariat

Fastest Triple Crown Winner

The Triple Crown of horse racing includes the Kentucky Derby, Preakness, and Belmont Stakes. Over the years, a total of 13 horses have won all three of these races. Secretariat was 1973 Triple Crown winner.

Furthermore, Secretariat was the first Triple Crown Winner recorded in 25 years and logged the fastest run time for the 3 races. This amazing horse set the time record at 1 minute and 59.4 seconds with a 2.5 length victory in the 1973 Kentucky Derby. Secretariat ran the Preakness at 1 minute and 53 seconds. In the Belmont Stakes, Secretariat won by an astounding 31 lengths. The horse is set the Belmont Stakes record as well. It’s incredible that he has records that still stand at Belmont, the Kentucky Derby, and Preakness.

Watch this amazing video of the 1973 Belmont Stakes

Secretariet winning the Belmont Stakes in 1973

Secretariat’s other wins and honors

Apart from the triple crown, Secretariat has won other horse prestigious races. Many of these races are still run today. They are considered Derby Prep Races. The races won by Secretariat include the Laurel Futurity in 1972. Also, he won the Hopeful stakes in 1972 and the Futurity in 1972. Also, he won, the Sanford Stakes in 1972 and the Garden State Futurity in 1972. Gotham stakes in 1973, Bay shore stake in 1973, Marlboro cup in 1973, Canadian international in 1973, Man o’ war stake in 1973 and Arlington Invitational in 1973.

Besides the Triple Crown, Secretariat has received several other awards and honors. For example, He earned the title of 9th US Triple Crown champion, American Champion Male Turf Horse, American Horse of the year and American champion three – year – old male Horse. Furthermore, Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame honored the horse in 2007. Also, the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame nominated him in 2013. Additionally, Belmont Park erected a statue in honor of Secretariat after his record setting. The statue now stands in the National Horse Racing Hall of Fame.

Churchill Downs History: A tradition of Epic Proportions

Churchill Downs History

What is the history of Churchill Downs Racetrack?

The Churchill Downs History and tradition has made it one of the globe’s most renowned racetracks and is the most legendary facility of its kind in the world. Furthermore, the track formally opened to the public in 1875. Initially, the facility showcased the breeding industry of Kentucky under the name the Louisville Jockey Club. Col. M. Lewis Clark founded it. They named the racetrack Churchill Downs after 15 years had elapsed.

Seems like that in 1875, a bunch of horses raced in the first the Kentucky Derby and Kentucky Oaks. Ever since its inception, it has grown to become the best venue for a number of renowned horse racing events including the Breeders’ Cup whose most recent hosting date was 3rd November, 2018. Other notable races that it has hosted include the Woodford Reserve, Clark Handicap, Stephen Foster, and Turf Classic. America recorded the track in the list of National History Landmarks in 1986.

Although the initial founder of the track was Col. M. Lewis Clark Jr., tribute has been given to his uncles John and Henry Churchill. The duo leased 32 acres of land to Lewis, who was the president of Louisville Jockey Club. Lewis’ grandfather, Richard Ten Broeck was a reputable horse breeder as well as trainer. He is the one who introduced his grandson to horse racing following their visit to London where they attended the English Derby; another iconic horse racing event. 

Churchill Downs history of ownership includes many different people, families and entities. The most notable one is William E. Applegate. He revolutionized the track and cemented its place in the history of horse racing both in the U.S. and the world.