Best Kentucky Derby Trainers

Bob Baffert

Who are the best Kentucky Derby trainers?

Louisville’s Kentucky Derby is one of the most iconic horse racing events in the U.S. The event features some of the most talented horses, trainers, and jockeys in the country. Still, Getting the best out of the Kentucky Derby depends on a number of factors: choice of horse, the horse’s condition of health, the nature of the race track, the choice of racing gear, how motivated the racer is, and several others. However, it largely depends on the input of the trainer. This post looks at Kentucky Derby’s most renowned trainers of all time.

Ben A. Jones

First on the list is Ben A. Jones. He is the first trainer to boast of six Derby winners since the inception of the competition: Lawrin in 1938, Whirlaway in 1941, Pensive in 1944, Citation in 1944, and the 1949 and 1952 winners; Ponder and Hill Gill respectively.  

Bob Baffert

Next up is Bob Baffert. He boasts of four Derby winners and a winner of the Triple Crown prize on 12 occasions. His four Derby winners are: Silver Charm in 1997, Real Quiet in 1998, War Emblem and American Pharaoh in 2002 and 2015 respectively. You can read about a couple of Bob Baffert’s horses that are competing in the 20d19 Kentucky Derby.

D. Wayne Lukas

Since the onset of his career, he has enjoyed four grand successes: Winning Colors in 1988, Thunder Gulch in 1995, Grindstone in 1996, and Charismatic in 1996. 

Henry J. Thompson

Throughout his illustrious career, he has had four winners of the Derby: Behave Yourself in 1921, Bubbling Over in 1926, Burgoo King and Brokers Tip in 1932 and 1933 respectively. On two occasions, he even had second places finishers in the Derby. 

Leave a Reply